Skip to content

Future innovators and teacher of the year awardees for 2022 Governor’s Celebration of Innovation announced by Arizona Technology Council

PR Log

Honoring the future innovators of Arizona’s technology industry, as well as the teachers who inspire them, the Arizona Technology Council and the Arizona Commerce Authority have announced the winners of the Future Innovators of the Year and Teacher of the Year awards for the 2022 Governor’s Celebration of Innovation (GCOI). The winners will be honored during GCOI, which will take place from 4:00 to 8:30 p.m. on Tuesday, November 8, 2022 at the Phoenix Convention Center, 100 N. Third St., West Building, Third Floor.

“The individuals recognized as Future Innovators and Teacher of the Year represent the next generation of Arizona’s technology talent and the teachers who instill a great love for learning in our youth,” said Steven G. Zylstra, president and CEO of the Arizona Technology Council and SciTech Institute. “It is my honor to announce these award winners and honorable mentions, and I look forward to celebrating them in person at GCOI 2022.”

“This year’s Future Innovator and Teacher of the Year winners showcase Arizona’s vibrant innovation ecosystem focusing on next-generation technologies,” said Sandra Watson, president and CEO of the Arizona Commerce Authority. “We are proud to help recognize these winners at the Governor’s Celebration of Innovation this fall.”

The Future Innovator of the Year award winners represent the best of the best of the Arizona Science and Engineering Fair (grades 9-12) for 2022. The winning students will receive $1,500 scholarships to further enhance their education, while honorable mentions receive $500 scholarships. The winning teacher will receive a $1,500 cash award, while honorable mentions receive a $500 cash award. Included below are the winners and honorable mentions, as well as the titles of each Innovator’s award-winning projects.

Future Innovators of the Year Award Winners:

  • Pranati Chintada, grade 9, BASIS Chandler – Method of Improving Soil Water Storage Capacity by Using Coir Fiber
  • Alexander Huang, grade 11, Hamilton High School, Chandler – AWSOM: Active Wrist Mechanism Utilizing Spherical Gear and a One-Drive Mechanism
  • Bremer Kaprosy, grade 9, Brophy College Preparatory, Phoenix – Cold Rocket Engines: Viability and Ecological Impacts
  • Kristopher Luo, grade 11, Hamilton High School, Chandler – Navi-Assist: An AI-Based Device for the Visually Impaired to Navigate Unfamiliar Environments Using Computer Vision

Future Innovators of the Year Honorable Mentions:

  • Prisha Shroff, grade 9, Hamilton High School, Chandler – AI-Based Wildfire Prevention, Detection and Suppression System
  • Janvi Srivastava, grade 10, BASIS Scottsdale – DermaTech: A Novel, Non-Invasive Technology to Detect Skin Cancer

Teacher of the Year Award Winner:

  • Alfred Santos, Harvest Preparatory Academy, Yuma

Teacher Honorable Mentions:

  • Thasanee Morrisey, Canyon View High School, Waddell
  • David Wirth, Millennium High School, Goodyear

The Future Innovator and Teacher of the Year award winners were evaluated and chosen by a selection committee independent of the Council. The committee included members of the Arizona Council of Engineering and Scientific Associations, which supports, promotes and coordinates programs and activities of the engineering and science associations within the state through facilitated communication and leadership.

Arizona’s most prestigious business leaders will celebrate the state’s technology innovation and leadership during GCOI, which will include networking, a strolling dinner, a technology showcase and a theatre-style awards program. Tickets are on sale now at


Register for the Council’s upcoming Phoenix and Tucson tech events and Optics Valley optics + photonics events.


Media Inquiries

Need some insight from the Council about Arizona’s thriving technology ecosystem? We’re happy to help. Fill out this form to send your inquiry to the Council’s team. We’ll get back to you shortly!