Skip to content

Arizona’s most innovative and impactful companies, tech leaders, educators and students honored at 2022 Governor’s Celebration of Innovation

The Arizona Technology Council, in partnership with the Arizona Commerce Authority, has announced the winners of the 2022 Governor’s Celebration of Innovation awards. Winners of this prestigious annual award program represent the best of the best in Arizona’s technology, science and education ecosystem. This year’s recipients were recognized tonight in a ceremony at the Phoenix Convention Center.

“The Governor’s Celebration of Innovation award winners represent the pinnacle of innovation and cutting-edge problem solving throughout the state,” said Steven G. Zylstra, president and CEO of the Council and its foundation, SciTech Institute. “It was a pleasure to celebrate our winners, as well as the many outstanding finalists, at tonight’s awards show. Each year we are so proud to see how far Arizona has come as a leader in technology, science and STEM education.”

“Each year, the Governor’s Celebration of Innovation awards showcase Arizona’s vibrant technology community,” said Sandra Watson, president and CEO of the Arizona Commerce Authority. “This year’s winners and finalists certainly carry on that tradition. We are proud to partner with the Council to highlight the entrepreneurs and local leaders making Arizona a magnet for innovative technologies.”

The winners in their respective categories are:

Company Award Winners

Individual/Company Award Winners

Legislative Award Winners

  • Senator of the Year: Sen. TJ Shope, District 8
  • Representative of the Year: Rep. Jennifer Pawlik, District 17

Tech 10 Award Winners

  • Sen. Sean Bowie, District 18
  • Senate Assistant Minority Leader Lupe Contreras, District 19
  • Senate President Karen Fann, District 1
  • Sen. David Gowan, District 14
  • Sen. Sine Kerr, District 13
  • Rep. David Cook, District 8
  • Rep. Diego Espinoza, District 19
  • Rep. Joel John, District 4
  • Rep. Steve Kaiser, District 15
  • Rep. Justin Wilmeth, District 15

Future Innovator Awards

Future Innovator Honorable Mentions

Teacher of the Year Award: Alfred Santos, Harvest Preparatory Academy, Yuma

Teacher Honorable Mention:

Winners and finalists were evaluated and chosen by a selection committee of experts independent of the Council who included:

  • Chuck Vermillion, CEO, AccountabilIT
  • Keith Latchaw, president & CEO, MSS Business Transformation Advisory
  • Doug Hockstad, assistant vice president, Tech Launch Arizona, The University of Arizona
  • James Goulka, chairman and managing director, Arizona Tech Investors
  • Eric Miller, principal and co-founder, PADT, Inc.
  • Nick Nolcheff, technology fellow, Compression Systems, Honeywell Aerospace

In addition, the Council would like to recognize and thank the Arizona Council of Engineering and Scientific Associations (ACESA) for their participation in selecting the Future Innovators and Teacher of the Year Award winners and honorable mentions.


Register for the Council’s upcoming Phoenix and Tucson tech events and Optics Valley optics + photonics events.


Media Inquiries

Need some insight from the Council about Arizona’s thriving technology ecosystem? We’re happy to help. Fill out this form to send your inquiry to the Council’s team. We’ll get back to you shortly!