2021 Governor’s Celebration of Innovation Awards + Tech Showcase



Arizona Technology Council, in partnership with the Arizona Commerce Authority and Avnet, honors technology leaders and innovators from across the state with the Governor’s Celebration of Innovation Awards.

This year marks the 18th year of this prestigious, black-tie event that attracts more than 850 attendees for a night of networking, dining and entertainment. The event will consist of a strolling dinner and Tech Showcase followed by a theatre-style awards program. Companies featured at the Tech Showcase consist of award finalists, sponsors and Council partners. 



4:00 – 6:00 PM Tech Showcase | Networking | Strolling Dinner
6:00 – 8:00 PM Award Presentations/Keynote Speakers
8:00 – 8:30 PM Networking + Tech Showcase

2021 GCOI Keynote Speakers:
Patrick (Pat) Gelsinger – CEO, Intel Corporation (Video Presentation)
Patrick (Pat) Gelsinger is chief executive officer of Intel Corporation and serves on its board of directors. On Feb. 15, 2021, Gelsinger returned to Intel, the company where he had spent the first 30 years of his career.

Before rejoining Intel, Gelsinger was CEO of VMware. In that role, he transformed VMware into a recognized global leader in cloud infrastructure, enterprise mobility and cyber security – almost tripling the company’s annual revenues. Gelsinger was also ranked the best CEO in America in 2019, according to an annual survey by Glassdoor. Prior to joining VMware in 2012, Gelsinger was president and chief operating officer of EMC’s Information Infrastructure Products business, overseeing engineering and operations for information storage, data computing, backup and recovery, RSA security and enterprise solutions.

Gelsinger began his career in 1979 at Intel, becoming its first chief technology officer, and also serving as senior vice president and the general manager of the Digital Enterprise Group. He managed the creation of key industry technologies such as USB and Wi-Fi. He was the architect of the original 80486 processor, led 14 microprocessor programs and played key roles in the Intel® Core™ and Intel® Xeon® processor families, leading to Intel becoming the preeminent microprocessor supplier.

Gelsinger earned several degrees in electrical engineering: an associate degree from Lincoln Technical Institute, a bachelor’s degree from Santa Clara University and a master’s degree from Stanford University. He holds eight patents in the areas of VLSI design, computer architecture and communications, is an IEEE Fellow, and serves as a member of the National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee.

Gelsinger and his wife have been married for over 30 years; they have four children and eight grandchildren. He is also a published author and speaks frequently on faith, work and philanthropy.

Christine Boles – VP, Internet of Things Group, General Manager, Industrial Solutions Division at Intel Corporation (Live In-Person)
Christine is a vice president in the Internet of Things Group (IOTG) and general manager of Intel’s Industrial Solutions Division. Her organization is responsible for Intel’s Industrial IOT business within the manufacturing, energy, logistics and commercial building segments, including the product and ecosystem strategies for this rapidly evolving space.

Boles joined Intel in 1992 as an application engineer for 16-bit microcontrollers. For 25 years, she has led development, delivery and the enabling of customers and ecosystems for Intel based solutions in many managerial roles. These solutions span a broad range of embedded and internet of things applications across many industries, including communications, storage, retail, imaging and commercial buildings.

Boles holds a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from University of Cincinnati and an MBA from Arizona State University.

2021 GCOI award nominations has ended. Award Finalists and Winners are listed below. Award Winners in the company categories will be announced live on stage at the event. To purchase tickets, click here.


Company Award Finalists

Innovator of the Year Academia:

  • Hong Hua, James C. Wyant College of Optical Sciences, Tucson, AZ
  • University of Arizona BIO5 Institute, Tucson, AZ
  • University of Arizona, Dr. Jim Schwiegerling, Tucson, AZ

Innovator of the Year Large Company:  

  • Aligned, Phoenix, AZ
  • IBM, Tucson, AZ
  • Involta LLC, Tucson, AZ
  • State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, Tempe, AZ

Innovator of the Year Small Company:

  • CP Technologies, Prescott, AZ
  • Digital Air Strike, Scottsdale, AZ
  • GT Medical Technologies Inc., Tempe, AZ
  • QuakeWrap Inc., Tucson, AZ

Innovator of the Year Start-Up:

  • Anuncia Medical, Scottsdale, AZ
  • EnPower, Inc., Phoenix, AZ
  • SaiOx, Inc., Tucson, AZ
  • YellowBird, Phoenix, AZ

Transformational Leadership Award:     

  • AGM Container Controls – Howard Stewart, Tucson, AZ
  • Arizona State University – Lev Gonick, Tempe, AZ
  • Cancer Treatment Centers of America – Amy Walters, Goodyear, AZ

Individual Award Winners

Judges Award Winner:

  • Qwick, Scottsdale, AZ

AccountabilIT Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • Phil Gallagher, Chief Executive Office, Avnet

Ed Denison Business Leader of the Year Winner:

  • Intel Corporation, Chandler, AZ

Outstanding Technology Senator of the Year:

  • Senator David Gowan, District 14

Outstanding Technology Representative of the Year:

  • Daniel Hernandez, District 2

Tech 10 Legislators:


  • Senate President Karen Fann, District 1
  • Senator Sean Bowie, District 18
  • Paul Boyer, District 20
  • Senate Minority Leader Rebecca Rios, District 27


  • Regina Cobb, District 5
  • Justin Wilmeth, District 15
  • House Majority Leader Ben Toma, District 22
  • Michelle Udall, District 25
  • House Minority Leader Reginald Bolding, District 27
  • Aaron Lieberman, District 28

Teacher of the Year Winners:

  • Jeremy Jonas, Tucson High Magnet School, Tucson, AZ
  • Michelle Landreville, Paradise Valley High School, Crest program, Phoenix, AZ (Honorable Mention)
  • David Wirth, Millennium High School, Goodyear, AZ (Honorable Mention)

Future Innovators of the Year Winners:

  • Marina Galasso, Galasso Homeschool, Tucson, AZ
  • Bailey Tischer, San Tan Charter School, Gilbert, AZ
  • Arjun Gupta, Paradise Valley High School, Phoenix, AZ
  • Lilli Seebold, Nathan Lam, Perry High School, Gilbert, AZ
  • Katherine Wei, BASIS Chandler, Chandler, AZ
  • Karah Mayer, Tanque Verde High School, Tucson, AZ

GCOI Tickets:
To purchase tickets for the October 13 event VISIT HERE 
– AZTC Members: $100 | Non-AZTC Members: $125 
– AZTC Member Group of 10: $900 | Non-AZTC Member Group of 10: $1,000 

Sponsorship Opportunities:
GCOI sponsorship packages range in price from $2,500 – $25,000.
Contact [email protected] for more information.

About the Tech Showcase:
Arizona is emerging as one of the fastest-growing tech hubs in the nation. Arizona may be a young state, but it is the grit and personality of the local technology companies and vendors that set it apart. There is no better place on earth to launch and scale innovative ideas that tackle the toughest tech challenges. Featuring award finalists, sponsors and partners, the Tech Showcase will include over 50 companies showcasing their innovations, culture and future here in Arizona. Bring your staff and colleagues to experience and enjoy Arizona’s exciting the tech community.

Tech Showcase exhibitors are encouraged to show off their company culture and creativity through fun, interactive activities. 










ASU Logo


Presented By



100 N. 3rd St.
West Building, 3rd Floor
Phoenix , AZ 85004


Phoenix Convention Center


October 13, 2021


4:00 PM - 8:30 PM


[AZTC Member - $100] [Non AZTC Member $125] [AZTC Member Group of Ten $900] [Non AZTC Member Group of Ten $1,000]